APC Retains Fed Constituency Seats In Kebbi Rerun, Bye Elections


From El-Yakub Dabai, Birnin Kebbi

The All Progressive Congress ruling party in Kebbi State has retained the Yauri-Shanga-Ngaski and Arewa- Dandi Federal Constituency seats in a hitch free bye and rerun elections conducted on the 3rd of February.

The Yauri-Shanga-Ngaski seat was declared vacant following the appointment of Dr Yusuf Tanko Sununu who was occupying the seat into the Federal Executive Council while the Arewa-Dandi election which took place in 25 polling units was orchestrated by court order.

The returning officer for the Yauri elections, Abbas Yusuf Bazata, returned Garba Umar Uba of the APC as winner having scored 54, 884 votes against Garba Hassan Warah of Peoples Democratic Party who received 16, 842 votes

As for Arewa-Dandi Federal Constituency, the rerun results presented to the public by the returning officer Abdullahi Aliyu Turaku, confirmed victory to Garba Rabiu Kamba with 32,432 votes against 31,858 scored by Abbdullahi Umar Kamba of the PDP thereby giving Garba Kamba the authority to return to the National Assembly after stepping aside pending the outcome of the rerun ordered by the Appeal Court.

In an interview with journalists shortly after the victory declaration, the State Chairman of APC, Abubakar Kana Zuru said “People turned out en mass and voteed for our party because they have confidence in the leadership of our governor, Comrade Dr Nasir Idris, Kauran Gwandu. He has started well and people have witnessed development more than expected, that’s why they reciprocate by voting APC.”

Send me an email when this newspaper has been updated


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here