Gov Matawalle dumps PDP, becomes APC leader in Zamfara


From Maiharaji Altine, Gusau

Governor Bello Matawalle of Zamfara state has formerly announced his defection to the All Progressive Congress (APC) saying that he is now the leader of the party in the state.

Speaking at a grand rally on Tuesday at the Trade Fair Complex Gusau, Matawalle said that he had been nursing the ambition of leaving his party PDP for several reasons.

“As from today, I have dumped the Peoples Demicratic Party, (PDP) and join the All Progressive Congress (APC)”.

Governor Bello Matawalle’s supporters during the formal defection to APC at the Trade Fair Complex Gusau on Tuesday

“I now the leader of APC in Zamfara state and I am ready to work with each and everyone wishing to contribute to the rapid development of the state”.

 Speaking at the occasion, the National Caretaker Committee Chairman of APC, Alhaji Mai Mala Buni congratulated Matawalle for defecting to the party.

Mai Mala Buni said based on the provision of the APC, Governor Bello Matawalle was now the leader of APC in Zamfara state.

“,As from today, Governor Bello Matawalle is the leader of the APC in Zamfara state”.

Other supporters of Governor Matawalle during the detection exercise

“I also want to bring to your notice that as from today, the APC Caretaker committees of Zamfara state from the ward to the state level have been dissolved”.

Also speaking at the occasion, the former Governor, Abdul Aziz Yari welcomed Governor Bello Matawalle to APC, adding that, he was ready to give all necessary support and cooperation for Matawalle to succeed.

“I want to bring to the notice of each and everyone in Zamfara state that, I am not in any way against the defection of Governor Matawalle to our great party”.

“I was a Governor for two terms as such, I thank the Almighty Allah for giving the chance to lead my people for eight years”.

Important personalities who graced the occasion included the Secretary to Federal Government, Goss Mustafa, the National Caretaker Committee Chairman, Alhaji Mai Mala Buni, the Senior Special Adviser to President Muhammadu Buhari on Media, Malam Garba Shehu and  former Governor of Zamfara state, Alhaji Ahmed Sani Yariman Bakura.

Others were Governor Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi state,  Simon Lalong of Plateau state, Aminu Bello Masari of Katina state, Dapo Biodun of Ogun Badaru Abubakar of Jugawa and  Babagana Zulum of Borno state.
The rest were Nasiru El Rufa,i, of Kaduna state, Yahaya Bello of Kogi state, Abubakar Bello of Niger state and former Governor of Borno state, Ali Modu Shariff.

Meanwhile, all the 24 members of the state House of Assembly, all the three senators and six out of the seven members of the Federal House of Representatives have also defected to the APC.

The Deputy Governor, Barrister Mahdi Aliyu Gusau and a member of the Federal House of Representatives representing Anka/Talata-Mafara Federal Constituency, Hon. Kabiru Mafara remained in the PDP.

Send me an email when this newspaper has been updated


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here